More Issues



One of the issues that has come up again in the 2017 Legislative Session is on bike safety.

SB 56 (BR-352) has been introduced by  Sen. Robin Webb (D, Ashland) and is now in the Senate Transportation committee.  The companion bill, HB 85 (BR 120) is in the House Transportation Committee, introduced by Rep. Jerry Miller (R, Louisville) and would amend KY law to require a 3 foot passing zone for vehicles overtaking a bicycle and would clarify circumstances when a vehicle may cross a double yellow line when passing a bicycle. Sen. Denise Harper Angel is the first co-sponsor in the Senate; last year there were seven co-sponsors in the Senate.
KCC has rated both bills as ones to “support” in the 2017 session.  
Supporters for this safer passing law include: 
Ashland Cycling Enthusiasts  Bicycle Owensboro, Bluegrass Cycling Club, Bowling Green League of Bicyclists, Cave Run – Red River Gorge Mt. Bike Alliance
Central KY Cyclists  Christian Co. Health Dept. Cumberland Valley Cycling Club, Frankfort Walk/Bike, Friends of the Dawkins Line, Henderson Co. YMCA, Hopkins Co. YMCA, KY Bicycle & Bikeway Commission, Letcher Co. Cycling Club, Letcher Co. Tourism, Lexington’s Bicycle Ped Advisory Committee, Little River Cycling Club (Hopkinsville)
London, KY, Mayor Troy Rudder (Trail Town), London – Laurel Co. Tourism      Morehead Tourism (Trail Town), Paris-Bourbon Co. YMCAPennyrile Area Cyclists, Prestonsburg, Mayor Les Stapleton, Queen City Bikes (5 Northern KY Co.), Royalton (Trail Town), Southwest KYMBA, Stearns (trailtown)/McCreary Co. Tourism, YMCA of Central KY